As an Amazon Associate this site earns from qualifying purchases.
Quick Picks
| Product | Published power/temperature spec | Best for | Link |
|---|---|---|---|
| Duxtop 1800W Portable Induction Cooktop Countertop Burner, Gold 8100MC | 15 power levels from 200-1800 Watts; 15 temperature settings 140°F to 460°F | A straightforward single burner with a long built-in timer | Check Price on Amazon |
| Duxtop 1800W Portable Induction Cooktop Countertop Burner, Black 9100MC | 20 power levels (100 to 1800 W) and 20 temperature settings (100 °F to 460 °F) | Finer low-end control and gentle holding | Check Price on Amazon |
| Nuwave Gold Precision Induction Cooktop, Powerful w/Large 8" Heating Coil | 100°F to 575°F in 5°F increments, 96 pre-programmed temps | Temperature-first cooks who want a high ceiling and fine steps | Check Price on Amazon |
| Duxtop LCD Portable Double Induction Cooktop 1800W Countertop Burner 9620LS | Two independent heating zones; 20 preset levels per mode | Cooking two things at once on a countertop | Check Price on Amazon |
Disclosure: We earn a small commission from qualifying Amazon purchases at no extra cost to you.
Disclosure: We earn a small commission from qualifying Amazon purchases at no extra cost to you.
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. This page contains affiliate links, and we may receive a commission if you buy through them — at no extra cost to you.
As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.
Last Updated: September 2026
Here's the thing about shopping for a portable induction burner: almost every listing says "1800W," and almost every shopper assumes that means the units are interchangeable. They aren't. The wattage ceiling is the least interesting number on the spec sheet. What actually changes your cooking is how finely that power is divided, how low the bottom of the range goes, whether the unit thinks in watts or in degrees, and whether you get one cooking zone or two.
This guide walks through what those published numbers mean, where they differ between real models, and how to read a listing so you can decide for yourself. This website does not do hands-on testing, so everything below is drawn from manufacturer listing specifications and reasoned through openly. Where a spec isn't published, this guide says so rather than guessing.
By the end you'll know how induction actually transfers heat, why "15 power levels" and "20 power levels" produce meaningfully different simmering behavior, when a double burner earns its counter space, and which accessories are worth adding.
- Duxtop Induction Cooktop uses 120 volts, 15 amps of electricity – standard in all homes; Lightweight and compact for easy handling and storage
- Digital control panel. Built-in count-down digital timer with 1 min increments up to 170 minutes; 15 temperature range from 140°F to 460°F; 15 power levels from 200-1800 Watts
- PORTABLE INDUCTION BURNER Duxtop induction cooktop uses 120 V 15 amp electrical outlet–standard in all North American homes. ETL listed and built to North American electrical
- Choose from 20 preset power levels (100 to 1800 W) and 20 preset temperature settings (100 °F to 460 °F). With an 83% energy efficiency rating, induction burner is more efficient
- MAKE ADJUSTMENTS ON-THE-FLY – Want hotter temperature or need to cook it longer? No problem. Simply adjust on-the-fly any time. Starting the cooking process over is not necessary
- 96 PRE-PROGRAMMED TEMPS - Select from the 6 convenient preset temperature settings or fine tune your own temperature from 100°F to 575°F in 5°F increments. You can also add or
- DUAL HEATING ZONES: This professional digital countertop induction cooktop by Duxtop is equipped with two independent heating zones that allow you to set each one separately using
- SAFE & EASY TO USE: Child safety lock system helps protect from injuries such as scalding. Touch control panel is simple to operate, and the rapid heating of the cookware makes
- {WARNING} INDUCTION HOB PROTECTOR – SAFE & COMPATIBLE – Premium silicone hob protector designed exclusively for induction hobs. NOT suitable for glass ceramic hobs, ovens, or
- ANTI-SCRATCH HOB COVER PROTECTION – This hob cover prevents scratches and damage, as its non-slip surface keeps cookware stable during cooking
- Prevents dirt and moisture from getting under your
- Sleek and virtually invisible
How Induction Cooktops Work (The Short Version)
Induction cooktops heat the pan itself rather than heating a surface that then heats the pan. An electromagnetic field passes into a magnetic-bottomed vessel, and the vessel becomes the heating element. The glass under it stays comparatively cool, warming mainly through contact with the hot pan.
That single mechanical fact explains nearly every quirk in the spec sheets. It's why these units refuse to run without the right cookware, why efficiency claims are so high, and why cleanup is easy.
On efficiency, the manufacturers publish their own figures. Duxtop's listing for the Black 9100MC states an 83% energy efficiency rating and describes the burner as more efficient than traditional stoves with quicker heat-up. Nuwave's listing for the Gold claims it transfers 85% to 90% of its electro-magnetic energy to heat energy, against about 30% for traditional stovetops. Those are seller-published numbers, not independently verified measurements, and they use different framing — treat them as directional, not as a head-to-head score.
The cookware requirement is not a footnote. Duxtop's Gold 8100MC listing states plainly that induction-compatible magnetic cookware is required, and names cast aluminum enameled iron and steel, stainless steel with a magnetic bottom, and cast iron as compatible. Both the Black 9100MC and the 9620LS listings add a size floor: magnetic-bottom cookware with a minimum diameter of 5 inches. The 9620LS listing goes further and states the cooktop will not operate without compatible cookware.
One honest expectation-setter, straight from the manufacturer: Duxtop's Gold 8100MC listing notes that induction itself is a noiseless process, but that there may be a high-pitched sound from clad cookware whose base sandwiches multiple layers of metal. If you own tri-ply pans and hear a whine, the listing says that's the cookware, not a fault.
Types of Induction Cooktops Explained
Portable induction splits into a few practical shapes. Here is how the models covered in this guide line up on their own published specifications.
| Model | Zones | Control modes published | Power range published | Temperature range published |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Duxtop 1800W Portable Induction Cooktop Countertop Burner, Gold 8100MC | Single | Power and temperature | 15 power levels, 200-1800 W | 15 settings, 140°F to 460°F |
| Duxtop 1800W Portable Induction Cooktop Countertop Burner, Black 9100MC | Single | Power and temperature | 20 power levels, 100 to 1800 W | 20 settings, 100°F to 460°F |
| Nuwave Gold Precision Induction Cooktop, Powerful w/Large 8" Heating Coil | Single | Temperature, with 6 presets | Not stated in the supplied listing information | 100°F to 575°F in 5°F increments |
| Duxtop LCD Portable Double Induction Cooktop 1800W Countertop Burner 9620LS | Two independent | Power mode or temperature mode | 20 preset levels per mode | 20 preset levels per mode |
A few notes on reading that table. The Nuwave Gold listing leads with temperature control and 96 pre-programmed temps rather than a watt ladder; the supplied listing information does not state a wattage range or a power-level count for it. That's a genuine gap, not a zero. If you want to dial a specific wattage, the two single Duxtops publish that; the Nuwave listing publishes degrees instead.
Single vs Double Induction Burner
The case for the double is narrow but strong. The Duxtop 9620LS listing describes two independent heating zones, each settable separately from the LCD display screen. That's the whole argument: a sauce holding on one zone while a pan sears on the other, without swapping cookware on and off a single element.
The case against is footprint and flexibility. A single unit like the Gold 8100MC is described in its listing as lightweight and compact for easy handling and storage — easier to stow, easier to move to a table or a garage. Duxtop's 9620LS listing does call the double lightweight too, and specifically calls out home and outdoor cooking, so portability isn't off the table; it's just a bigger object.
Worth flagging: the supplied listing information does not state how the 9620LS's 1800W is distributed between its two zones when both run at once. If simultaneous full-power output on both zones matters to you, that's a question to put to the manufacturer before buying rather than an assumption to make from the headline number.
Induction Cooktop Wattage Explained
Start with the direct answer: on a standard North American outlet, 1800 W is effectively the ceiling for a plug-in portable burner, so wattage mostly stops being a differentiator at the top. What separates units is the bottom of the range and the number of steps in between.
Both Duxtop single burners publish the same electrical requirement. The Black 9100MC listing states a 120 V 15 amp electrical outlet, standard in North American homes, and adds that it's ETL listed and built to North American electrical standards. The 9620LS listing also states ETL approval and North American electrical standards.
One caution this guide will not fudge: an appliance's electrical rating tells you what the appliance draws. It does not tell you what your kitchen circuit can safely carry, what else can share that circuit, or whether your wiring is adequate. That's a question for an electrician and your local code, not for a product listing.
Why the Low End Matters More Than the High End
Compare the two single Duxtops. The Gold 8100MC publishes 15 power levels from 200-1800 Watts. The Black 9100MC publishes 20 preset power levels from 100 to 1800 W.
Do the arithmetic and the difference is real. The Gold's ladder spans 1600 W across 15 steps; the Black's spans 1700 W across 20. The Black's published floor is also half the Gold's — 100 W versus 200 W. The reasonable inference is that the 9100MC can hold something gentler than the 8100MC can, and gives you more rungs to find the setting between "barely moving" and "rolling." For melting, holding, and low simmers, that lower floor is the spec that will change your cooking.
The temperature ranges follow the same pattern. Same ceiling, lower floor, more steps.
Key Features to Look For, Ranked by Importance
- Granularity at the low end. As above: the published minimum wattage and the number of levels tell you whether the burner can hold a delicate sauce. The Black 9100MC publishes a 100 W floor across 20 power levels — a lower floor and more steps than the Gold 8100MC's 200 W across 15. Check Price on Amazon
- The control mode you actually think in. Some cooks think in heat levels, others in degrees. The 9620LS listing offers both explicitly, with 20 preset levels per mode, and Duxtop recommends temperature mode for frying, steaming and sauteing, and power mode for keeping warm or bringing water to a boil quickly. That's a useful hint about which mode suits which task.
- Temperature resolution and ceiling. The Nuwave Gold listing publishes 100°F to 575°F in 5°F increments plus 6 convenient preset temperature settings. A 5°F step is the finest temperature increment published among these models, and 575°F is the highest published temperature ceiling here.
- Auto-pan detection. Both Duxtop singles publish the same behavior: the unit shuts off automatically after 60 seconds if no cookware is detected, with the Black 9100MC listing adding that incorrect cookware triggers the same shutoff. Useful, but read the scope — it's a no-pan shutoff, not permission to leave a hot pan cooking unattended.
- Timers and on-the-fly adjustment. The Gold 8100MC publishes a built-in count-down digital timer in 1 minute increments up to 170 minutes — a genuinely long window for slow work. The Nuwave Gold listing emphasizes changing temperature or time mid-cook without restarting the cooking process, and says you can add or deduct cooking time at any time.
- Safety and certification specifics. The 9620LS publishes a child safety lock system, which is the standout if there are kids in the house. The Gold 8100MC publishes a diagnostic error message system and a low and high voltage warning system; the 9620LS also publishes a low and high voltage warning system. ETL marks appear on the 8100MC, 9100MC and 9620LS listings.
- Surface and cleaning. The Black 9100MC listing points out that with no open flame, food does not burn onto the oversized glass cooktop, so it wipes down with a damp towel, and that the control panel has a large display screen. The Nuwave Gold listing describes heavy-duty shatter-proof ceramic glass and states there are no open flames or hot coils.
Induction Cooktop Power Levels: How to Actually Use Them
Power levels and temperature settings solve different problems, and the manufacturers say so. Duxtop's guidance on the 9620LS is the clearest statement available: temperature mode for frying, steaming and sauteing; power mode for keeping warm or bringing water to a boil quickly.
The logic is straightforward once you see it. Power mode is you commanding a fixed energy output — good when you want maximum input to a pot of water, or a steady trickle to hold something warm. Temperature mode targets a setpoint, which is what you want when the goal is a specific frying temperature rather than a specific intensity.
Nuwave's chocolate example on the Gold listing is the cleanest illustration of a temperature-first workflow: set 120°F, add chocolate to an induction-ready pot, and stir, with the listing claiming it will never burn, and naming delicate sauces like Hollandaise, Beurre Blanc and Beurre Fondue. Whether it holds that precisely is the manufacturer's claim, but the workflow it describes — pick a low setpoint, walk away from double-boiler juggling — is exactly what a fine temperature increment is for.
Common Mistakes to Avoid
- Buying the burner before checking the pans. This is the big one. The Gold 8100MC listing states outright that to use this and any other induction cooktop you need the right kind of cookware. Put a magnet on your pan bases before you order anything.
- Ignoring the minimum pan diameter. The Black 9100MC and 9620LS listings both specify magnetic-bottom cookware with a minimum diameter of 5 inches. A small saucepan or a butter warmer may simply not register.
- Treating 1800W as a ranking. Three of the four cooktops here publish 1800 W in their names or specs. That number does not separate them; the level counts, floors and control modes do.
- Assuming auto-shutoff means unattended cooking. The 60-second no-pan shutoff on the Duxtop singles protects against an empty burner, nothing more.
- Expecting silence with clad cookware. Duxtop's own Gold 8100MC note about a possible high-pitched sound from multi-layer clad bases is the manufacturer telling you this in advance.
- Grabbing the surface right after cooking. The Black 9100MC listing warns the cooktop may be hot after use from contact with hot cookware and says to allow it to cool before handling or cleaning. The glass isn't the heat source, but the pan was sitting on it.
- Buying a double when you needed a spare single. Two independent zones are genuinely useful, but only if you regularly run two pans. Otherwise you've bought counter space you don't use.
Budget Considerations
Prices move constantly on Amazon, so this guide won't rank these by cost — check current pricing on each listing before deciding. What's worth thinking about instead is where the money buys you capability.
Decide first whether you need two zones. The Duxtop 9620LS is the only model here with two independent heating zones, and that's a structural difference no single-burner discount closes. If one zone is enough, the question becomes control philosophy: the Black 9100MC buys you a finer power ladder with its published 20 levels and 100 W floor, while the Nuwave Gold buys you finer temperature steps at 5°F and a higher published ceiling at 575°F.
Budget a little for the pans, too. If your current cookware isn't magnetic, the real cost of switching to induction includes replacing it — and the cookware requirement is non-negotiable on every model here.
Our Top Recommendations
Duxtop 1800W Portable Induction Cooktop Countertop Burner, Black 9100MC — Best for fine low-end control
If your cooking involves holding, melting and low simmering, that published 100 W floor is the spec that matters, and it's half the published minimum of the Gold 8100MC.
The listing also states an 83% energy efficiency rating, an ETL listing built to North American electrical standards, a 120 V 15 amp outlet requirement, and auto-pan detection that shuts the unit off after 60 seconds if no cookware or incorrect cookware is detected.
Strengths: 20 published power levels with a published 100 W floor, finer and lower than the Gold 8100MC's; oversized glass surface the listing says wipes clean with a damp towel; large display screen.
Limitations to know: requires magnetic-bottom cookware at least 5 inches in diameter, so small pots may not register. The listing warns the cooktop may be hot after use from contact with hot cookware. The supplied listing information does not state a timer duration for this model.
Verdict: the default pick for a single-zone burner if you care about the bottom of the range more than the top.
Duxtop LCD Portable Double Induction Cooktop 1800W Countertop Burner 9620LS — Best for cooking two dishes at once
This is the only model in this guide with two independent heating zones, each set separately from the LCD display screen. That's the reason to buy it, and it's a capability no single-zone unit substitutes for.
It also publishes both control philosophies: power mode and temperature mode, 20 preset levels per mode, with the manufacturer recommending temperature mode for frying, steaming and sauteing and power mode for keeping warm or boiling water quickly. A child safety lock system, a low and high voltage warning system, and ETL approval to North American electrical standards round out the listing.
Strengths: two independently controlled zones; both control modes with 20 levels each; child safety lock; described as lightweight and suited to home and outdoor cooking.
Limitations to know: it will not operate without compatible cookware, and needs magnetic bases of at least 5 inches. The supplied listing information does not state how power is shared between the two zones when both are running, nor a temperature range in degrees.
Verdict: buy it if you genuinely run two pans at once; skip it if one zone covers your cooking.
Nuwave Gold Precision Induction Cooktop, Powerful w/Large 8" Heating Coil — Best for temperature-first precision cooking
This one thinks in degrees, not watts. Its listing publishes a range of 100°F to 575°F adjustable in 5°F increments, alongside 6 convenient preset temperature settings and 96 pre-programmed temps. That 5°F step is the finest temperature increment published among the models here, and 575°F is the highest published ceiling here.
Nuwave also emphasizes mid-cook flexibility: adjust temperature or time at any point without starting the cooking process over, with immediate response from the digital controls. The surface is described as heavy-duty shatter-proof ceramic glass with no open flames or hot coils.
Strengths: finest published temperature increments and highest published temperature ceiling in this guide; on-the-fly adjustment without restarting; a documented low-temperature workflow, with the listing describing chocolate melting at a 120°F setting and delicate sauces.
Limitations to know: the supplied listing information does not state a wattage range, a power-level count, an electrical requirement, or an ETL listing for this model, so if you want to set a specific wattage, the Duxtop singles publish that and this listing doesn't. Its efficiency figure of 85% to 90% and its "one of the safest cooktops on the market" claim are the manufacturer's own, without independent verification in the supplied listing information.
Verdict: the pick for cooks who work to a target temperature and want small steps between settings.
Duxtop 1800W Portable Induction Cooktop Countertop Burner, Gold 8100MC — Best for long, timed cooking sessions
The standout spec here is the timer: a built-in count-down digital timer in 1 minute increments up to 170 minutes. That's a long window, and it suits timing long cooks such as stocks and braises. The supplied listing information does not state what the unit does when the count-down reaches zero, so treat the timer as a timer rather than as an unattended-cooking feature.
It also publishes a diagnostic error message system and a low and high voltage warning system, ETL approval, a 120 volt 15 amp requirement, and the same 60-second auto-pan-detection shutoff. The listing names compatible cookware specifically: cast aluminum enameled iron and steel, stainless steel with a magnetic bottom, or cast iron.
Strengths: published count-down timer of up to 170 minutes; explicit diagnostic error messaging; clear published cookware compatibility list; described as lightweight and compact for handling and storage.
Limitations to know: its published floors are higher than the Black 9100MC's — 200 W versus 100 W, and 140°F versus 100 °F — with 15 steps rather than 20, so it's the coarser of the two Duxtop singles at the gentle end.
Verdict: choose it over the 9100MC if the long count-down timer matters more to you than the extra low-end resolution.
A cheap insurance policy for a glass top.
The seller states the mats prevent scratches, that the non-slip surface keeps cookware stable, that they catch spills to prevent burnt-on stains, and that they're dishwasher safe and reusable.
Strengths: five mats in three sizes; published 535°F heat rating; dishwasher safe.
Limitations to know: read the compatibility warning carefully. The listing states these are designed exclusively for induction hobs and are NOT suitable for glass ceramic hobs, ovens, or microwaves. It also claims heat protection "without any heat loss," which is a seller claim the supplied listing information does not substantiate — expect a physical barrier between coil and pan to have some effect, and check the manufacturer's guidance before relying on it under a hot pan.
Verdict: worth adding if you want scratch and spill protection on an induction surface, provided you respect the stated compatibility limits.
Clean 3dge Cooktop Induction Edge Protector — Best for sealing a built-in cooktop's edge gap
This one solves a specific annoyance rather than a cooking problem: crumbs and liquid working their way into the seam around a drop-in cooktop. The listing describes it as a universal stretch fit for cooktops 30 to 36 inches wide, with a 0.069 in diameter, and says it prevents dirt and moisture from getting under your induction cooktop.
The seller also describes it as sleek and virtually invisible, ready to place instantly, durable and heat-resistant, and very easy to clean. Note it's also listed as suitable for gas stoves and ceramic cooktops.
Strengths: targets a real cleaning problem on built-in units; stretch fit across a 30 to 36 inch range; no installation described beyond placing it.
Limitations to know: it's for a built-in cooktop's edge, not for a portable countertop burner, so it's irrelevant to most of the units in this guide. The supplied listing information does not state a specific temperature rating or material, so "heat-resistant" here is unquantified.
Verdict: relevant only if you have a drop-in cooktop in the 30 to 36 inch range and the edge gap bothers you.
How We Research
No one at this website tested, used, handled or measured any of these products. What this guide is built on is close reading of Amazon Creators API verified product records and the product listing feature bullets for each ASIN, all retrieved on 2026-09-06.
The method is comparative and arithmetic. Where two models publish the same kind of spec — a power range, a level count, a temperature floor — this guide lines them up and works out what the difference implies for cooking. Where a model doesn't publish something, that's stated as unknown rather than filled in from elsewhere, and a spec is never carried across from one model to another because the names look similar.
Seller claims are labeled as seller claims. An efficiency percentage or a "one of the safest" line is the manufacturer describing its own product, and this guide passes it along with that attribution intact rather than presenting it as verified.
How to Get the Best Deal on Amazon
- Check the current price on each listing before comparing. Prices on these products change, so any ranking by cost written weeks ago is stale.
- Confirm you're on the right model and variant. The Gold 8100MC and Black 9100MC are different units with different published specs, not colorways of one product. Match the model number, not just the brand.
- Read the feature bullets before the reviews. The published specs settle most of the questions people ask in reviews, including cookware compatibility and level counts.
- Add up the true cost. If you need new magnetic cookware, that's part of the purchase.
- Buy from the listing you researched. Specs quoted in this guide come from these exact ASINs; a similar-looking third-party listing may be a different variant.
- Know your consumer rights before you click. USA.gov's consumer protection resources cover returns, warranties and complaint routes.
Maintenance and Care Tips
- Let it cool first. Duxtop's Black 9100MC listing is explicit that the cooktop may be hot after use from contact with hot cookware and should be allowed to cool before handling or cleaning.
- Wipe, don't scrub. Because there's no open flame, the same listing notes food doesn't burn onto the oversized glass cooktop, so a damp towel usually does it.
- Pay attention to error codes. The Gold 8100MC publishes a diagnostic error message system and a low and high voltage warning system; the 9620LS publishes a low and high voltage warning system too. If a code appears, look it up in the manufacturer's documentation rather than guessing.
- Keep the seam clean on built-ins. For a drop-in unit, an edge protector such as the Clean 3dge Cooktop Induction Edge Protector is designed to keep dirt and moisture from getting under the cooktop.
- Check for recalls periodically. The CPSC maintains public recall information for consumer products.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does a 1800W induction cooktop need a special outlet?
That said, an appliance's rating tells you what the appliance draws, not what your particular circuit can safely carry alongside everything else on it.
What cookware works on an induction cooktop?
Magnetic-bottomed cookware. Duxtop's Gold 8100MC listing names cast aluminum enameled iron and steel, stainless steel with a magnetic bottom, and cast iron as compatible. Two of the models here also specify a minimum base diameter of 5 inches, so very small pots may not be detected.
Single or double induction burner — which should I buy?
Buy the double only if you routinely cook two things simultaneously. The Duxtop 9620LS publishes two independent heating zones set separately from its LCD screen, which is the one thing no single-zone unit can replicate. If you cook one pan at a time, a single burner is smaller and simpler.
What is the difference between power levels and temperature settings?
Power levels command an energy output; temperature settings target a setpoint. Duxtop's own guidance on the 9620LS recommends temperature mode for frying, steaming and sauteing, and power mode for keeping warm or bringing water to a boil quickly. Several models publish both.
Why does my induction cooktop make a buzzing or high-pitched noise?
Duxtop's Gold 8100MC listing addresses this directly: induction itself is a noiseless process, but clad cookware with multiple metal layers sandwiched in the base may produce a high-pitched sound. Per that listing, it's a cookware characteristic.
Can I leave an induction cooktop running unattended because of auto-shutoff?
No. The auto-pan detection on the Duxtop singles shuts the unit off after 60 seconds if no cookware is detected — that's protection against running empty, not a substitute for supervising food that's actively cooking.
Which of these has the finest temperature control?
On published specs, the Nuwave Gold Precision Induction Cooktop is adjustable from 100°F to 575°F in 5°F increments, the finest temperature increment and the highest ceiling published among the models in this guide. For power-level granularity rather than degrees, the Black 9100MC publishes 20 levels down to 100 W.
Final Verdict
If you're buying one portable induction burner and you want the most usable control, the Duxtop 1800W Portable Induction Cooktop Countertop Burner, Black 9100MC is the pick — its published 20 power levels reaching down to 100 W and 20 temperature settings from 100 °F reach lower and in finer steps than the Gold 8100MC's published floors, and the low end is where induction burners are hardest to get right.
If you cook two things at once, stop comparing and buy the Duxtop LCD Portable Double Induction Cooktop 1800W Countertop Burner 9620LS. Two independent heating zones is a structural capability, and no amount of extra power levels on a single burner substitutes for it.
If you cook to a temperature rather than a heat level — candy, chocolate, emulsified sauces, careful frying — the Nuwave Gold Precision Induction Cooktop is the one whose listing is built around that workflow, with 5°F increments across 100°F to 575°F.
And the Duxtop Gold 8100MC earns its place on one specific spec: a count-down timer running in 1-minute increments up to 170 minutes. If long, timed cooking sessions are your pattern, that's the tiebreaker — with the pan still supervised, since the listing describes only a count-down timer and a no-cookware shutoff.
Whatever you pick, check your pans with a magnet first. Every cooktop in this guide is useless without the right cookware, and the manufacturers say so themselves.
For more on this category, see our best portable induction cooktops roundup and our induction-ready cookware guide.
Sources and Methodology
Nothing on this page was physically or laboratory-tested by this website; there is no test kitchen behind these conclusions and no measurement here originated with us. What we did do was pull the Amazon Creators API verified product record and the full set of product listing feature bullets for each of the six ASINs on 2026-09-06, then read the published power ranges, level counts, temperature spans, timer specs and cookware requirements against each other to see where the models genuinely diverge.
That kind of research is well suited to this category, because portable induction burners are differentiated mainly by numbers the manufacturers publish outright — 15 levels versus 20, a 200 W floor versus 100 W, one zone versus two. It cannot tell you how a unit sounds in your kitchen, how the coating wears over years, or whether a given unit's temperature setpoint is accurate; for those, the manufacturer's documentation and owner feedback on the listings themselves are your next stop.