As an Amazon Associate this site earns from qualifying purchases.
Quick Picks: Portable Induction Cooktops at a Glance
| Product | Best For | Published Power Range | Published Temp Range | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Duxtop 1800W Portable Induction Cooktop Countertop Burner | Long timed cooking | 15 levels, 200-1800 W | 15 levels, 140-460°F | |
| Duxtop 1800W Portable Induction Cooktop Countertop Burner | Fine low-end simmer control | 20 levels, 100-1800 W | 20 levels, 100-460°F | |
| Duxtop Portable Induction Cooktop | Long-timer cooking with a child lock | 20 levels, 100-1800 W | 20 levels, 100-460°F | |
| Duxtop LCD Portable Double Induction Cooktop 1800W Countertop Burner | Cooking two dishes at once | 20 levels per mode | 20 levels per mode | |
| Nuwave Pro Chef Induction Cooktop | High-heat searing | 3 wattage settings, 900/1500/1800 W | 100-575°F in 5°F steps |
Disclosure: We earn a small commission from qualifying Amazon purchases at no extra cost to you.
Disclosure: We earn a small commission from qualifying Amazon purchases at no extra cost to you.
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. This page contains affiliate links, and we may receive a commission if you buy through them — at no extra cost to you.
As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.
Last Updated: September 2026
Look, most portable induction cooktops advertise the same headline number: 1800 watts. That figure tells you almost nothing about which one belongs on your counter. What actually separates these machines is granularity — how many discrete power steps and temperature steps you get, how low the bottom of the range goes, how high the top goes, how long the timer runs, and whether the unit has a safety lock.
This roundup compares ten portable induction burners strictly on what their manufacturers and Amazon listings publish. This website does not do hands-on testing, so nothing below is a report of cooking on these units. Instead, it's a close reading of the published specifications, with the practical consequences spelled out as inferences you can check against the source listings yourself.
You'll find a quick comparison table, a full section per product with pros, limitations and a verdict, a buying-criteria section on what those specs mean in a real kitchen, and recommendations grouped by how you actually plan to cook.
- Duxtop Induction Cooktop uses 120 volts, 15 amps of electricity – standard in all homes; Lightweight and compact for easy handling and storage
- Digital control panel. Built-in count-down digital timer with 1 min increments up to 170 minutes; 15 temperature range from 140°F to 460°F; 15 power levels from 200-1800 Watts
- PORTABLE INDUCTION BURNER Duxtop induction cooktop uses 120 V 15 amp electrical outlet–standard in all North American homes. ETL listed and built to North American electrical
- Choose from 20 preset power levels (100 to 1800 W) and 20 preset temperature settings (100 °F to 460 °F). With an 83% energy efficiency rating, induction burner is more efficient
- PORTABLE INDUCTION BURNER: Duxtop induction cooktop uses 110/120 V 15 amp electrical outlet–standard in all North American homes. ETL listed and built to North American electrical
- Choose from 20 preset power levels (100 to 1800 W) and 20 preset temperature level settings (100 °F to 460 °F). With an 83% energy efficiency, induction burner is more efficient
- DUAL HEATING ZONES: This professional digital countertop induction cooktop by Duxtop is equipped with two independent heating zones that allow you to set each one separately using
- SAFE & EASY TO USE: Child safety lock system helps protect from injuries such as scalding. Touch control panel is simple to operate, and the rapid heating of the cookware makes
- MAKE ADJUSTMENTS ON-THE-FLY – Want hotter temperature or need to cook it longer? No problem. Simply adjust on-the-fly any time. No need to start over. Pro Chef’s intuitive digital
- 94 PRE-PROGRAMMED TEMPS - Select from the 6 convenient preset temperature settings or fine tune your own temperature from 100°F to 575°F in 5°F increments. You can also add or
- REQUIRES INDUCTION COMPATIBLE MAGNETIC COOKWARE. If a magent sticks well to the bottom of the pan and it is between 5-inches and 12-inches , it should be compatible
- Duxtop Induction Cooktop uses 120 volts, 15 amps of electricity – standard in all homes ; Lightweight and compact for easy handling and storage
- FLEXIBLE & SPACE-SAVING: This versatile portable induction stovetop allows you to cook meals without a full range, making it the perfect solution for RVs, cabins, studio
- VERSATILE COOKING: With 8 power levels (300-1800 watts) and temperature range 160-440°F (71-226°C), this cooktop accommodates a wide range of cooking methods: simmering, keeping
- CONVENIENT & PORTABLE INDUCTION BURNER: Duxtop induction cooktop offers both temperature and power modes for convenient and efficient cooking. Lightweight, portable induction
- BUILT-IN & PORTABLE USE: This induction cooktop can be built-in or countertop, with an elegant design that’s the perfect size for your kitchen. Sleek sensor panel with a built-in
Why Specs, Not Vibes
Here's the thing: most units in this list publish an 1800-watt maximum — the Nuwave Gold's top wattage setting is 1500 W — and several Duxtop and ChangBERT listings quote the same 83% energy efficiency rating [S4][S5][S10][S11][S12]. When headline numbers converge, the decision moves to the details — step count, floor and ceiling temperatures, timer length, lock, and cookware size limits.
So that's how these are organized. Each section names the published specification behind the recommendation.
The Portable Induction Cooktops, Reviewed From the Spec Sheets
Duxtop 1800W Portable Induction Cooktop Countertop Burner, Gold 8100MC — Best for long timed cooking on a simple two-mode burner
That's a coarser grid than the 20-step models further down this page, and the temperature floor sits at 140°F rather than 100°F — worth knowing if very gentle holding is your priority.
What stands out is the timer. Duxtop lists a built-in count-down digital timer adjustable in 1-minute increments up to 170 minutes [S3]. Nearly three hours of countdown in one-minute steps is genuinely useful for a long braise or a stock, though a timer is a convenience feature and not permission to leave a hot appliance unattended.
The electrical and safety story is spelled out plainly: 120 volts, 15 amps, ETL approved, a diagnostic error message system, a low and high voltage warning system, and auto-pan detection that shuts the unit off after 60 seconds if no cookware is detected [S3]. Duxtop is also unusually candid in its own listing about the cookware requirement, naming cast aluminum enameled iron and steel, magnetic-bottom stainless, and cast iron as compatible [S3].
Pros
- Timer runs up to 170 minutes in 1-minute increments [S3]
- ETL approved, with a diagnostic error message system plus low and high voltage warnings [S3]
- Auto-pan detection shuts the unit off after 60 seconds with no cookware present [S3]
- Listing describes it as lightweight and compact for handling and storage [S3]
- 15 steps per mode is a coarser grid than the 20-step Duxtop models on this page [S3][S4]
- Temperature range starts at 140°F, higher than the 100°F floor on the 9100MC and 9600LS [S3][S4][S5]
- Duxtop's own listing warns that clad cookware may produce a high-pitched sound during use [S3]
Duxtop 1800W Portable Induction Cooktop Countertop Burner, Black 9100MC — Best for delicate low-temperature work
This is the model that fixes the 8100MC's two weak points on paper. A 100-watt floor and a 100°F setting are the lowest published values among the units here that state numbers, which suggests it's the better pick for melting, holding sauces, or keeping a curry warm without scorching.
Duxtop quotes an 83% energy efficiency rating and says the burner is more efficient than traditional stoves with quicker heat-up [S4]. Treat that as the manufacturer's own figure rather than an independent measurement.
The listing also calls out an oversized glass cooktop and a large display screen, and notes that with no open flame, food doesn't burn onto the surface — wipe with a damp towel [S4]. Cookware needs a magnetic bottom at least 5 inches in diameter, and auto-pan detection shuts things down after 60 seconds if the wrong cookware or none at all is sitting on the glass [S4].
Pros
- 20 power levels reaching down to 100 W for gentle heat [S4]
- 20 temperature settings starting at 100°F [S4]
- Manufacturer-quoted 83% energy efficiency rating [S4]
- Oversized glass surface with a large display screen [S4]
- ETL listed and built to North American electrical standards [S4]
- The supplied listing information does not state a timer duration for this model [S4]
- No child or safety lock is described in the listing bullets [S4]
- Requires magnetic-bottom cookware at least 5 inches across [S4]
Duxtop Portable Induction Cooktop, Countertop Burner 1800W Silver 9600LS — Best for households with kids and long cook times
The 9600LS takes the 9100MC's 20-level grid — 100 to 1800 watts, 100°F to 460°F — and layers on the control features [S5]. It has a digital LCD sensor touch panel with a child safety lock that keeps cooking and timer settings from being changed once set, a fast boil button, a keep warm button that runs 1 to 30 minutes at 140°F, and a timer button reaching up to 10 hours [S5].
That 10-hour timer is the longest published countdown among the Duxtop units listed here, and it's paired with the finest published step grid among the Duxtop units [S3][S5][S10]. If you're the person who makes stock or slow-cooks in a Dutch oven, that combination is the argument for this model over its siblings.
The child lock deserves a note. Duxtop frames it as preventing accidental changes to settings that have already been dialed in [S5]. That's a lock on the controls, not a guarantee of safe unattended operation — the glass still gets hot from contact with hot cookware.
Duxtop also runs on a 110/120 V 15 amp outlet and is ETL listed to North American electrical standards, with an 83% efficiency claim and a 5-inch minimum magnetic cookware requirement [S5].
Pros
- Timer button reaching up to 10 hours [S5]
- 20 power levels (100-1800 W) and 20 temperature levels (100-460°F) [S5]
- Child safety lock protects settings once they're entered [S5]
- Dedicated fast boil button and a keep warm button running 1-30 minutes at 140°F [S5]
- LCD touch control panel, ETL listed [S5]
- The keep warm function is capped at 30 minutes, so longer holds mean using a low power or temperature level instead [S5]
- Touch controls can be less forgiving than physical buttons when your hands are wet or gloved, an inference from the panel type Duxtop describes [S5]
- Duxtop notes cookware itself may emit high-pitched sounds from its layered metal base [S5]
Duxtop LCD Portable Double Induction Cooktop 1800W Countertop Burner 9620LS — Best for cooking two dishes simultaneously
This is the double induction burner countertop option on the list, and it's the only unit here whose listing describes two independent heating zones set separately from an LCD display screen [S6]. If you're outfitting a studio apartment or an RV kitchen without a range, one appliance covering a pot and a pan is a structurally different proposition from any single burner.
Duxtop gives you 20 preset levels per mode and is specific about which mode suits which task: temperature mode for frying, steaming and sauteing; power mode for keeping warm or bringing water to a boil quickly [S6]. That guidance is the manufacturer's, and it's a sensible framing — power mode targets a wattage, temperature mode targets a setpoint.
Safety and build notes: a child safety lock system, a low and high voltage warning system, and ETL approval to North American electrical standards [S6]. Duxtop also pitches it for outdoor cooking as well as home use, calling the design lightweight and attractive [S6].
One genuine caveat. The supplied listing information for the 9620LS does not state a total wattage split between the two zones or a per-zone maximum, so how much power each side can draw at once is not established by this evidence [S6].
Pros
- Two independent heating zones, each set separately via the LCD screen [S6]
- 20 preset levels in each of power mode and temperature mode [S6]
- Child safety lock system [S6]
- Low and high voltage warning system, ETL approved [S6]
- Manufacturer positions it for both home and outdoor cooking [S6]
- The listing does not state how the 1800 W is allocated across the two zones or whether both can run at maximum together [S6]
- Cookware still needs a magnetic bottom at least 5 inches in diameter, and the unit will not operate without it [S6]
- Two zones means a larger countertop footprint than the single burners here, an unavoidable consequence of the dual-zone design [S6]
Duxtop 1800W Portable Induction Cooktop Countertop Burner, Silver 8120MC — Best for cooks who need wide cookware compatibility
Where its listing is more helpful than most is the cookware guidance. Duxtop gives an explicit test and a range: if a magnet sticks well to the bottom of the pan and the pan is between 5 inches and 12 inches, it should be compatible [S7]. That 12-inch upper bound is the widest published cookware ceiling among the units here that state one, and it's a real advantage over the Amazon Basics unit, whose listing caps compatibility at 8.2 inches [S7][S8].
Honestly, that single line resolves the question most buyers actually have — will my skillet work? — better than any wattage figure. Duxtop pairs it with the usual easy-clean pitch: no open flame or heating element, so food doesn't burn onto the glass and a damp towel handles cleanup [S7].
Pros
- Explicit cookware guidance: magnetic bottom, 5 to 12 inches [S7]
- Timer up to 170 minutes in 1-minute increments [S7]
- 15 power levels (200-1800 W) and 15 temperature settings (140-460°F) [S7]
- ETL approved with diagnostic error messages and voltage warnings [S7]
- Auto-pan detection cuts power after 60 seconds without cookware [S7]
- 15 steps per mode, versus 20 on the 9100MC and 9600LS [S4][S5][S7]
- Temperature floor of 140°F, above the 100°F floor those two models publish [S4][S5][S7]
- No child or safety lock appears in this model's listing bullets [S7]
Amazon Basics 1800W Portable Electric Induction Cooktop — Best for RVs, cabins and tight studio counters
This is the most travel-oriented unit on the page by its own published numbers: 11.4" W x 2.6" H x 13" D and 6.2 lbs [S8]. Amazon lists it explicitly for RVs, cabins, studio apartments and other small spaces without a full kitchen [S8].
Control granularity is where it gives ground. You get 8 power levels from 300 to 1800 watts and a temperature range of 160-440°F [S8]. Both the power floor (300 W) and the temperature floor (160°F) are higher than the Duxtop 9100MC's published 100 W and 100°F [S4][S8]. Amazon says so itself in the listing: ideal for continuous heating, but not recommended for slow or low temperature cooking [S8]. Take that at face value — this is a boil-and-sear appliance, not a hollandaise appliance.
Safety features listed are a child lock, an auto-pause function, overheat protection and a voltage warning system, with a 3-hour timer and a tempered glass surface [S8]. Cookware compatibility is narrow and specific: flat-bottomed induction-ready cookware only, no aluminum, and diameters of 5.7" to 8.2" [S8]. Measure your pans before ordering — a 10-inch skillet falls outside that stated range.
Pros
- Published dimensions of 11.4" W x 2.6" H x 13" D at 6.2 lbs [S8]
- 3-hour timer with an LED display and preset cooking modes [S8]
- Child lock, auto-pause, overheat protection and voltage warning system [S8]
- Tempered glass surface for straightforward cleanup [S8]
- Marketed by Amazon specifically for RVs, cabins and studio apartments [S8]
- Only 8 power levels (300-1800 W), fewer than the 20 levels published for the Duxtop 9100MC and 9600LS [S4][S5][S8]
- Amazon states it is not recommended for slow or low temperature cooking [S8]
- Cookware diameter is restricted to 5.7"-8.2", and aluminum cookware is not compatible [S8]
Nuwave Pro Chef Induction Cooktop, Commercial-Grade Portable Burner — Best for high-heat searing
This is the temperature specialist. The 575°F ceiling is the highest published maximum temperature on this page — the Duxtop models here that publish a ceiling top out at 460°F, and the Amazon Basics unit at 440°F [S3][S4][S5][S7][S8][S9].
Nuwave is explicit about why: the company says its chefs determined 575°F was optimal for grilling a steak with a sear, and that the maximum was set there deliberately [S9]. That's the manufacturer's reasoning, not an independent finding, but the 5°F increment size is the more useful number. Fine steps like that suggest genuinely precise setpoint work — keeping a sauce at 100°F at one end, hard searing at the other [S9].
The surface is heavy-duty shatter-proof ceramic glass, which Nuwave says was tested to withstand intense heat without shattering [S9]. Nuwave also claims 85-90% of electro-magnetic energy transfers to heat energy versus roughly 30% for traditional stovetops, and describes patented insulation technology that brings the coils closer to the cookware than the competition [S9]. Those are the brand's own claims about its own product; the supplied listing information doesn't include third-party verification.
One number worth naming: Nuwave publishes 3 wattage settings — 900, 1500 and 1800 watts — designed to work well even where power is limited, so its top setting matches the 1800 W units while its power grid is much coarser [S9].
Pros
- Highest published temperature ceiling here at 575°F [S9]
- Six convenient preset temperature settings alongside manual control [S9]
- Heavy-duty shatter-proof ceramic glass heating surface [S9]
- Temperature and cook time can be adjusted mid-cook without restarting [S9]
- Just 3 wattage settings (900, 1500 and 1800 W), a coarser power grid than the 20-level Duxtop models [S4][S5][S9]
- Efficiency and construction claims come from Nuwave's own listing, without third-party verification in the supplied evidence [S9]
- No child or safety lock is described in the listing bullets [S9]
Duxtop Built-in Induction Cooktop, Portable Induction Burner 1800W 8600BI — Best for a semi-permanent counter or island installation
The 8600BI is the flexible one. Duxtop says it can be built in or used on the countertop, with a sleek touch-sensitive sensor panel and a built-in LED screen [S10]. If you're finishing a kitchen island, a bar, or an outdoor prep station and want the option of dropping the unit in rather than storing it, that dual mounting story is the differentiator.
It also has a safety lock button that prevents cooking and timer settings from being changed once entered, which Duxtop frames as both an anti-fumble measure and a child-scalding safeguard [S10].
Cookware needs a magnetic bottom at least 5 inches across [S10]. And a practical note on the built-in ambition: the supplied listing information does not state cutout dimensions, clearance requirements or installation instructions, so confirm those with Duxtop before you cut a countertop.
Pros
- Usable either built-in or on the countertop [S10]
- Both temperature and power modes, 15 presets each (200-1800 W, 140-460°F) [S10]
- Safety lock button guards entered settings [S10]
- Touch-sensitive sensor panel with a built-in LED screen [S10]
- Manufacturer-quoted 83% energy efficiency rating [S10]
- The supplied listing information does not state cutout dimensions or installation clearances for the built-in use case [S10]
- 15 steps per mode, with a 140°F temperature floor rather than 100°F [S4][S10]
- No timer duration is stated in this model's listing bullets [S10]
ChangBERT Induction Cooktop, Commercial Grade Portable Cooker — Best for heavy continuous use and commercial settings
Don't let the unfamiliar brand name put you off reading the spec sheet, because this listing carries NSF and UL commercial standard 197 certifications no other listing here claims. ChangBERT states UL commercial standard 197 with ETL and NSF approval, and says the unit meets industry durability standards, passing a drop test with an impact of 1.5 ft lbs [S11]. NSF certification is the one that matters if you're equipping a food service operation, and no other listing on this page mentions it.
So the temperature side is fine-grained while the power side is coarse. If you cook by setpoint rather than wattage, that trade works in your favor.
ChangBERT describes continuous-duty circuitry for non-stop cooking, power control technology that stabilizes high-power output and reduces internal electronics temperature, and low-noise heat dissipation [S11]. These are manufacturer descriptions rather than published measurements, and the listing does not quantify a duty-cycle rating — but continuous-duty circuitry is at least a claim the consumer-focused listings here don't make.
Practical touches round it out: a countdown timer up to 10 hours, a stainless steel body, a key-press control panel the brand says works with gloves or wet hands, and a safety stack covering auto-pan detection, over-heat protection, hot surface indication, small article detection, auto shutdown and circuit failure protection [S11]. Those physical buttons are a real advantage over touch panels in a wet or greasy kitchen.
Pros
- UL commercial standard 197 with ETL and NSF approval [S11]
- Countdown timer up to 10 hours [S11]
- Key-press control panel usable with gloves or wet hands, plus six named safety protections [S11]
- Only 9 power levels across 200-1800 W, coarser than the 20-level Duxtop models [S4][S5][S11]
- The listing does not quantify a duty-cycle rating despite the continuous-duty claim [S11]
- Temperature steps are fixed at 20°F apart, far coarser than the Nuwave units' 5°F increments [S9][S11]
Nuwave Gold Precision Induction Cooktop, Portable, Large 8" Heating Coil — Best for precision low-temperature technique on a refurbished budget
Read the first bullet before anything else: this is a renewed unit, inspected and refurbished by Nuwave using genuine Nuwave parts [S12]. That's a different purchase than a new-in-box appliance, and you should weigh it accordingly.
Nuwave leans into the low end with a concrete example — set it to 120°F, add chocolate to an induction-ready pot, stir, and it won't burn, no double boiler required [S12].
Safety behavior is described specifically: the unit shuts off automatically when the set cook time completes, and it will not start with no cookware on the surface [S12]. The heating surface is heavy-duty shatter-proof ceramic glass which Nuwave says it tested against intense heat [S12], and the brand claims 85% to 90% energy transfer versus about 30% for traditional stovetops [S12].
One of Nuwave's claims goes further than the evidence supports on its own terms — the company says its patented insulation brings the coils closer to your cookware than any other induction cooktop [S12]. That's a superlative from the seller's own listing, and the supplied evidence contains no independent comparison to check it against.
Pros
- 96 pre-programmed temperatures, 100°F to 575°F in 5°F increments [S12]
- Manufacturer gives a specific 120°F chocolate-melting workflow with no double boiler [S12]
- Shuts off automatically at the end of the set cook time, and will not start without cookware present [S12]
- Heavy-duty shatter-proof ceramic glass surface [S12]
- Refurbished by Nuwave with genuine Nuwave parts [S12]
- Sold renewed rather than new [S12]
- Publishes 3 wattage settings (700, 900 and 1500 W), so its top setting is 1500 W rather than 1800 W [S12]
- Nuwave's "closer than any other induction cooktop" claim comes from its own listing with no independent comparison in the supplied evidence [S12]
What to Look For in a Portable Induction Cooktop
A good 1800W portable induction cooktop is defined less by its peak wattage than by how finely it divides that wattage and how the surface interacts with your existing pans. Here's the order these criteria actually deserve.
1. Step count in both modes. Published power grids on this page range from 3 wattage settings on each of the two Nuwave units and 8 power levels on the Amazon Basics unit to 20 each on the Duxtop 9100MC, 9600LS and 9620LS, while the two Nuwave units publish 94 and 96 pre-programmed temperatures in 5°F increments [S4][S5][S6][S8][S9][S12]. More steps means finer adjustment between "barely bubbling" and "rolling boil."
The floors differ a lot: 100 W and 100°F on the 9100MC and 9600LS, 200 W and 140°F on the 8100MC, 8120MC and 8600BI, 300 W and 160°F on the Amazon Basics [S3][S4][S5][S7][S8][S10]. Low-end control is what separates a burner that can hold a sauce from one that breaks it.
3. The top of the range. Duxtop's stated maximums stop at 460°F and Amazon Basics at 440°F, while both Nuwave models publish 575°F [S3][S8][S9][S12]. If searing is the point, that gap is the whole decision.
4. Cookware compatibility. Induction needs a magnetic base — the 9100MC, 9600LS, 9620LS and 8600BI listings each call for a magnetic bottom at least 5 inches in diameter, while the 8100MC listing states the magnetic-cookware requirement without publishing a minimum diameter [S3][S4][S5][S6][S10]. The Duxtop 8120MC publishes a 5-to-12-inch working range, while the Amazon Basics unit specifies 5.7"-8.2" and rules out aluminum entirely [S7][S8]. Test your pans with a fridge magnet before you order.
5. Timer length. The published timers vary widely: 3 hours on the Amazon Basics, 170 minutes on the 8100MC and 8120MC, and up to 10 hours on both the Duxtop 9600LS and the ChangBERT [S3][S5][S7][S8][S11]. A timer is a scheduling tool. It doesn't make an appliance safe to leave running unattended.
6. Locks and safety behavior. Child or safety locks appear in the listings for the 9600LS, 9620LS, 8600BI and Amazon Basics [S5][S6][S8][S10]. The supplied listing information for the ChangBERT does not describe a child or safety lock [S11]. Auto-pan detection with a 60-second cutoff is stated in the listings for the 8100MC, 9100MC, 9600LS and 8120MC [S3][S4][S5][S7]; the 9620LS listing says only that the cooktop will not operate without compatible cookware, and the supplied listing information for the 8600BI does not describe auto-pan detection [S6][S10]. The CPSC publishes general guidance on household product safety worth reading before you add any high-wattage appliance to a busy kitchen [S1].
7. Control panel type. Touch panels appear on the Duxtop LCD models, while ChangBERT uses key-press buttons it says work with gloves or wet hands [S5][S6][S11]. That's a preference, but a meaningful one if your hands are usually messy while cooking.
One thing this article deliberately won't do: tell you what circuit to plug into. Duxtop lists these units as using a 120 V, 15 amp outlet standard in North American homes [S3][S4], but an appliance's electrical rating says nothing about your home's wiring, breaker load or continuous-draw headroom. For questions about product safety recalls and consumer rights, the CPSC and USA.gov consumer protection pages are the authoritative starting points [S1][S2].
If you're building out a compact kitchen, our guides to premium cookware and induction-ready pan sets cover the other half of this purchase.
How We Research
This website does not perform hands-on testing, and nobody here cooked on any of these cooktops. The research method is documentary: for each of the ten ASINs above, we pulled the Amazon Creators API verified product record and read every product listing feature bullet the manufacturer publishes, retrieved 2026-09-06.
From there, the work is comparison and interpretation. We normalized the published figures — power levels, wattage ranges, temperature ranges and increments, timer durations, cookware diameter limits, certifications, lock and auto-shutoff behavior — into a like-for-like grid, then identified where models genuinely differ rather than repeating brand language.
Where a spec is absent from a listing, we say so rather than guessing. Where a number comes from a manufacturer's own claim rather than an independent body, we attribute it that way. That's the honest boundary of this method: it tells you what each machine is designed and rated to do, not how it feels on your counter after six months.
Final Verdict
If you want one recommendation for the widest range of home cooks, take the Duxtop Portable Induction Cooktop. That set of specs covers gentle sauce work and hard boiling from the same panel.
The two genuine specialists are easy to identify. If your reason for buying is searing, the Nuwave models' published 575°F ceiling in 5°F increments is a capability that the Duxtop models publishing a 460°F ceiling and the Amazon Basics unit at 440°F do not offer [S8][S9][S12]. And if the burner will run all day in a commercial kitchen, the ChangBERT's NSF approval and UL commercial standard 197 listing are certifications no other product on this page claims [S11].
Here's the honest caveat that applies to every pick: these conclusions come from reading spec sheets closely, not from cooking. Long-term reliability, fan noise, and how the touch panels age are not things published specifications can tell you.
Recommendation by Use Case
- Best all-around single burner: Duxtop Portable Induction Cooktop — 20 power levels (100-1800 W), 20 temperature levels (100-460°F), child lock, 10-hour timer [S5].
- Best for two dishes at once: Duxtop LCD Portable Double Induction Cooktop 1800W Countertop Burner 9620LS — two independent heating zones with 20 preset levels per mode [S6].
- Best for searing: Nuwave Pro Chef Induction Cooktop, Commercial-Grade Portable Burner — 100°F to 575°F in 5°F increments across 94 pre-programmed temps [S9].
- Best for delicate low-heat work: Duxtop 1800W Portable Induction Cooktop Countertop Burner, Black 9100MC — a published 100 W and 100°F floor [S4].
- Best for RVs and travel: Amazon Basics 1800W Portable Electric Induction Cooktop — 6.2 lbs, 11.4" x 2.6" x 13" [S8].
- Best for large skillets: Duxtop 1800W Portable Induction Cooktop Countertop Burner, Silver 8120MC — stated compatibility from 5 to 12 inches [S7].
- Best for commercial duty: ChangBERT Induction Cooktop, Commercial Grade Portable Cooker — NSF and ETL approval under UL commercial standard 197 [S11].
- Best for future built-in installation: Duxtop Built-in Induction Cooktop, Portable Induction Burner 1800W 8600BI — usable built-in or on the countertop [S10].
- Best long-timer classic: Duxtop 1800W Portable Induction Cooktop Countertop Burner, Gold 8100MC — 170-minute timer in 1-minute increments [S3].
- Best precision on a renewed unit: Nuwave Gold Precision Induction Cooktop, Portable, Large 8" Heating Coil — 96 pre-programmed temps, refurbished by Nuwave [S12].
Frequently Asked Questions
Duxtop states its cooktops use a 120 volt, 15 amp electrical outlet that is standard in North American homes, and the units are ETL listed to North American electrical standards [S3][S4]. That describes the appliance's rating only. Whether your specific circuit can carry it alongside other loads is a question for a licensed electrician, not something an appliance spec can answer.
What cookware works on these induction burners?
It has to be magnetic. Duxtop lists cast iron, enameled iron and steel, cast aluminum, and stainless steel with a magnetic bottom as compatible, and the 9100MC listing requires a base at least 5 inches in diameter [S3][S4]. The Duxtop 8120MC gives the simplest test: if a magnet sticks well to the pan bottom and the pan is between 5 and 12 inches, it should work [S7]. The Amazon Basics unit is narrower, requiring flat bottoms of 5.7" to 8.2" and excluding aluminum cookware [S8].
Which portable induction cooktop gets hottest?
Among the models here, both Nuwave units publish the highest ceiling at 575°F, adjustable in 5°F increments from 100°F [S9][S12]. The Duxtop models on this page that publish a temperature ceiling top out at 460°F and the Amazon Basics at 440°F [S3][S4][S8].
Is the Duxtop 8100MC different from the 8120MC?
The listings differ mainly in emphasis — the 8120MC states a 5-to-12-inch cookware compatibility range, while the 8100MC's bullets detail compatible cookware materials [S3][S7].
Why does my induction cooktop make a buzzing or high-pitched noise?
Duxtop addresses this directly in its own listings: induction itself is a noiseless process, but clad cookware whose base is multiple layers of metal sandwiched together may produce a high-pitched sound [S3][S5]. So the noise source is generally the pan, not the burner.
Can I leave a portable induction cooktop running unattended because it has a timer?
No. Timers here range up to 10 hours on the Duxtop 9600LS and the ChangBERT [S5][S11], and the Nuwave Gold shuts off automatically when the set cook time completes [S12], but those are convenience and scheduling features. Duxtop also warns the cooktop may remain hot after use from contact with hot cookware [S4]. Follow CPSC guidance on safe use of household appliances [S1].
Is a double induction burner countertop unit better than two single burners?
It depends on power. The Duxtop 9620LS gives you two independent heating zones controlled separately from one LCD screen, which saves space and cable clutter [S6]. But its listing does not state how power is divided between the zones or whether both can run at maximum simultaneously, so if you need two burners at full output at once, that specification is not established by the available evidence [S6].
Sources & Methodology
Nothing on this page came from a kitchen, a lab, or a stopwatch — this website does not physically test products, and no one here cooked on any of these ten cooktops. What we did instead was pull the Amazon Creators API verified product record for each ASIN on 2026-09-06 and read every product listing feature bullet the manufacturers publish, then line the numbers up side by side: wattage floors and ceilings, step counts in power and temperature mode, increment sizes, timer lengths, cookware diameter limits, and which certifications each brand actually claims.
That approach answers a specific set of questions well. It cannot tell you how a fan sounds after two years or whether a touch panel stays responsive — those need long-term ownership, and we'd be inventing them if we claimed otherwise.
For broader consumer safety context on high-wattage kitchen appliances, the CPSC [S1] and USA.gov's consumer protection resources [S2] are the authoritative public references.