Review at a Glance
| Product | Duxtop 1800W Portable Induction Cooktop Countertop Burner, Gold 8100MC |
|---|---|
| Price | |
| Best For | Cooks who want fine, repeatable heat steps on a countertop and already own magnetic cookware |
| Power | 15 power levels from 200-1800 Watts [S3] |
Disclosure: We earn a small commission from qualifying Amazon purchases at no extra cost to you.
Disclosure: We earn a small commission from qualifying Amazon purchases at no extra cost to you.
As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.Last Updated: September 2026
Look, the question with a portable induction burner is almost never "is it powerful enough." It's whether the control granularity is real, whether the safety behavior is sane, and whether your existing pans will even wake it up. This review reads the published listing specifications for the Duxtop 1800W Portable Induction Cooktop Countertop Burner, Gold 8100MC closely and works out what those numbers mean for a buyer. Nobody here cooked on it. This website does not do hands-on testing, and the analysis below is drawn entirely from the manufacturer and retailer listing data described at the end.
| Timer | Count-down digital timer, 1-minute increments, up to 170 minutes [S3] |
|---|---|
| Electrical | 120 volts, 15 amps [S3] |
| Certification | ETL approved [S3] |
Supported strengths
- Fifteen discrete power levels spanning 200 to 1800 watts, which is a genuine 9x spread between the lowest and highest setting [S3].
- A count-down timer adjustable in 1-minute increments up to 170 minutes — nearly three hours of programmable run time [S3].
- Auto-pan detection that shuts the unit off after 60 seconds when no cookware is detected [S3].
- Diagnostic error messaging plus low and high voltage warning systems [S3].
- ETL approved, and rated for the 120V/15A supply the manufacturer describes as standard in all homes [S3].
- It requires induction-compatible magnetic cookware. The listing names cast aluminum enameled iron and steel, stainless steel with a magnetic bottom, and cast iron as compatible; cookware without a magnetic base is not covered by that list [S3].
- The manufacturer itself warns that clad cookware — bases with multiple metal layers sandwiched together — may produce a high-pitched sound, even though induction is a noiseless process [S3].
- The supplied listing information does not state the cooktop's dimensions, weight, cooking surface diameter, or the pan sizes it accommodates.
- Duxtop Induction Cooktop uses 120 volts, 15 amps of electricity – standard in all homes; Lightweight and compact for easy handling and storage
- Digital control panel. Built-in count-down digital timer with 1 min increments up to 170 minutes; 15 temperature range from 140°F to 460°F; 15 power levels from 200-1800 Watts
Quick Picks
| Product | Best For | Standout Specification | Link |
|---|
Overview: What the Listing and Specifications Show
The Duxtop 8100MC is a single-zone portable induction burner controlled by a digital panel, running on 120 volts and 15 amps [S3]. That electrical figure is the anchor for everything else: 1800 watts is roughly what a standard North American 15-amp, 120-volt circuit can deliver before you're pushing the ceiling, which is why nearly every plug-in countertop burner tops out around this number rather than higher.
What separates units in this class isn't peak wattage. It's what happens below peak. Those are the specifications worth buying on.
The listing also describes the unit as lightweight and compact for easy handling and storage [S3]. Note the scope of that claim carefully — it is the manufacturer's characterization, not a published weight or dimension. The supplied listing information does not state either figure.
Key Features and Specifications
| Specification | Published Value | What It Suggests for a Buyer |
|---|---|---|
| Power levels | 15, from 200-1800 Watts [S3] | Fifteen selectable steps across the range, rather than a knob with high/medium/low; the listing does not publish the size of each step |
| Temperature settings | Fifteen selectable settings across that span; the listing does not publish the increment between settings | |
| Timer | 1-minute increments, up to 170 minutes [S3] | Long enough to program a slow simmer or a stock reduction without resetting |
| Voltage / current | 120 volts, 15 amps [S3] | The manufacturer describes this supply as standard in all homes |
| Cookware requirement | Induction-compatible magnetic cookware required [S3] | Compatible with cast aluminum enameled iron and steel, magnetic-bottom stainless, or cast iron |
| Auto shut-off | After 60 seconds with no cookware detected [S3] | Prevents the unit running on indefinitely when no cookware is detected, such as after a pan is removed; the listing does not describe any dry-pan or boil-dry protection |
| Diagnostics | Error message system; low and high voltage warnings [S3] | Faults surface as diagnostic messages rather than silent failure |
| Safety listing | ETL approved [S3] | The listing states ETL approval; it does not state the certifying scope or standard |
Duxtop Countertop Burner Settings, Read Closely
Here's the thing about the two modes. Power mode holds a wattage; temperature mode targets a number on a dial. They are not the same tool. Power mode is what you want for anything where you're judging by what's happening in the pan — a hard sear, a rolling boil, a reduction you're watching. Temperature mode is for anything where the number itself is the goal.
The published bottom end matters most. A 200-watt floor is the setting that determines whether this burner can hold a bare simmer or melt chocolate without seizing it [S3]. The 140°F low temperature setting points in the same direction [S3]. Both figures suggest the unit is designed to do quiet, low work as well as fast, loud work — though the listing does not publish how tightly it holds any given setting, and this website has not measured it.
At the other end, 460°F is the highest published temperature setting [S3]. If you cook by target temperature, that's your ceiling in that mode. Deep-frying recipes calling for 375°F sit comfortably inside it.
Expected Performance, Based on Manufacturer and Listing Data
A direct answer first: the manufacturer publishes 1800 watts of maximum output on a 120V/15A supply, which is the practical top of the plug-in countertop class, and 15 power steps down to 200 watts [S3]. On specifications alone this reads as a burner built for control range rather than raw speed records.
The inference to draw from a 200-to-1800-watt spread is about the gaps, not the extremes. Fifteen levels across that range means the jump between adjacent settings is modest, which should make it possible to nudge a pot up or down without overshooting the way a three-position switch forces you to. That's an inference from the published step count, not an observed behavior.
The 170-minute timer is the other performance-relevant number [S3]. Nearly three hours of countdown in 1-minute increments covers braises, stocks and long simmers without a mid-cook reset. Important scope note: a timer schedules a shut-off. It does not make unattended cooking safe, and nothing in the listing suggests otherwise. The U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission is the authority to consult on general appliance safety practice.
What the supplied listing information does not establish: heat-up times, boil times, temperature accuracy or stability at any setting, surface temperature during use, or how evenly the burner heats a given pan diameter. Those are the numbers a lab would produce, and no lab produced them here.
Duxtop Induction Burner Pan Size and Cookware Compatibility
This is the section that decides whether you should buy it, so read it before the rest.
The listing states in capital letters that induction-compatible magnetic cookware is required, and names what qualifies: Duxtop and other induction-ready cookware such as cast aluminum enameled iron and steel, stainless steel with a magnetic bottom, or cast iron [S3]. The manufacturer adds that this requirement applies to this and any other induction cooktop [S3]. That last part is honest and worth respecting — it's physics, not a Duxtop limitation.
The practical test costs nothing: hold a refrigerator magnet to the bottom of the pan you plan to use. If it grabs firmly, the pan is a candidate. If it slides off, that pan is dead weight on any induction hob.
On pan size specifically: the supplied listing information does not state a minimum or maximum pan diameter, nor the diameter of the cooking zone. What the listing does establish is the detection behavior — if the unit does not detect cookware, it shuts off automatically after 60 seconds [S3]. A pan too small or too poorly matched to be detected will therefore trigger that shut-off rather than heating.
Budget for cookware if you don't already own magnetic pieces. A burner you can't use with your existing pans is not a bargain at any price.
Build Quality and Design, From Published Specifications
No one here has handled this unit, so this section reads specifications and stops where they stop.
What the listing establishes: a digital control panel rather than mechanical knobs [S3]; a build the manufacturer characterizes as lightweight and compact for easy handling and storage [S3]; ETL approval as stated on the listing [S3]; and an onboard diagnostic error message system with low and high voltage warnings [S3].
That voltage-warning system is the detail I'd flag as genuinely useful. An appliance that tells you it's seeing out-of-range supply voltage, rather than simply misbehaving, is easier to troubleshoot — especially in an RV, a rental, or on a long extension run where supply quality is uncertain. The listing does not state the voltage thresholds that trigger those warnings.
The manufacturer's own acoustic note deserves repeating verbatim in substance: induction itself is a noiseless process, but there may be a high-pitched sound from clad cookware whose base is multiple layers of metal sandwiched together [S3]. So if you own a multi-ply clad set, expect the possibility of noise, and understand from the manufacturer's framing that it originates in the pan construction rather than the burner.
What the supplied listing information does not state: surface material, glass thickness, control-panel type (touch versus button), cord length, fan noise level, warranty term, or dimensions and weight.
Value for Money
Check current price on Amazon — pricing moves, and a number printed on a static page ages badly.
The value case rests on what you're actually paying for, which here is control resolution and safety instrumentation rather than headline wattage. Fifteen power levels and fifteen temperature settings, plus a 170-minute countdown timer, ETL approval, auto-pan-detection shut-off and voltage diagnostics, is a fuller specification list than a plain on/off-plus-dial burner offers [S3]. Whether that premium is worth it depends on how you cook.
The hidden cost is cookware. If your pans fail the magnet test, the true cost of this burner includes replacing them [S3]. Factor that in honestly before comparing prices.
I won't rank this against competing burners, because no competing product records were supplied for this page and inventing their specifications would be worse than saying nothing.
Who Should Buy the Duxtop 8100MC
Buy it if:
- You already own cast iron, enameled iron or magnetic-bottom stainless, so the compatibility requirement costs you nothing [S3].
- You cook things where the difference between 200 watts and 400 watts matters — custards, chocolate, reductions, long simmers [S3].
- You need a programmable countdown longer than an hour; 170 minutes in 1-minute steps covers most braises [S3].
- You're adding a burner to a dorm, small kitchen, office, or a space where the manufacturer's lightweight-and-compact framing and standard 120V/15A draw matter [S3].
- You want faults surfaced as diagnostic error messages and voltage warnings rather than as unexplained behavior [S3].
- Your cookware has no magnetic base. The listing states in capitals that induction-compatible magnetic cookware is required [S3].
- You cook mostly in heavy multi-ply clad pans and are noise-sensitive — the manufacturer specifically flags possible high-pitched sound from that base construction [S3].
- You need a documented pan-diameter range before buying, because the supplied listing information does not publish one.
- You're shopping on published temperature accuracy or boil-time data. Those figures are not in the listing, and this website ran no tests to supply them.
How We Research
This page was built by reading published product data, not by cooking. Two source types went into it: an Amazon Creators API verified product record for ASIN B0045QEPYM, and the product listing feature bullets published on that listing, both retrieved 2026-09-06 [S3].
The method is simple and deliberately narrow. Every specification stated above was pulled from those records and attributed to whoever published it. Where a figure invites arithmetic — the span between 200 and 1800 watts, the gap between 140°F and 460°F — the arithmetic is shown and labeled as an inference, and step sizes the listing does not publish are not calculated. Where the listing is silent, this review says so rather than substituting a plausible number.
For general appliance safety guidance and recall information, the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission publishes consumer resources, and USA.gov maintains consumer protection guidance.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is the Duxtop 8100MC worth it?
It's worth it if you value fine heat control and already own magnetic cookware. If your pans aren't magnetic, factor replacement cookware into the cost before deciding [S3].
What pan size does the Duxtop induction burner take?
The supplied listing information does not state a minimum or maximum pan diameter for this model. What it does establish is that the pan must be induction-compatible and magnetic, and that the unit shuts off automatically after 60 seconds if no cookware is detected [S3]. Use a refrigerator magnet on your pan's base as a free compatibility check.
What are the Duxtop countertop burner settings?
There are two published control modes. A separate count-down timer adjusts in 1-minute increments up to 170 minutes [S3].
Will my stainless steel pans work on it?
Only if they have a magnetic bottom. The listing specifies compatibility with cast aluminum enameled iron and steel, stainless steel with a magnetic bottom, or cast iron [S3]. Stainless pieces without a magnetic bottom are not among the cookware the listing names as compatible [S3].
Does it need a special outlet or circuit?
The manufacturer states the cooktop uses 120 volts and 15 amps, which it describes as standard in all homes [S3]. An appliance's electrical rating does not by itself establish what any particular home's wiring or circuit can safely support — check with a qualified electrician if you're unsure about your circuit, and consult CPSC consumer safety resources for general guidance.
Why would an induction cooktop make a high-pitched noise?
The manufacturer addresses this directly: induction itself is a noiseless process, but clad cookware — bases built from multiple layers of metal sandwiched together — may produce a high-pitched sound [S3]. By that framing the noise originates in the pan's construction, not a defect in the burner.
Can I leave it running unattended because of the timer?
No. The 170-minute count-down timer schedules a shut-off; it does not make unattended cooking safe [S3]. The auto-pan detection shut-off after 60 seconds applies specifically to the case where no cookware is detected, which is a different condition entirely [S3]. Follow general appliance safety guidance from the CPSC.
Final Verdict
Buy this one for the control range: the Duxtop 1800W Portable Induction Cooktop Countertop Burner, Gold 8100MC publishes 15 power levels from 200-1800 Watts and 15 temperature settings from 140°F to 460°F [S3]. Add a 170-minute programmable countdown, auto shut-off when no pan is detected, voltage warnings, diagnostic error messaging and ETL approval, and the specification sheet is coherent rather than padded [S3].
The honest caveat is not a flaw, it's a prerequisite. Magnetic cookware is mandatory [S3]. Sort that out first and this is a well-specified countertop burner for anyone who wants repeatable heat steps in a small footprint. Skip it if your pans fail the magnet test and you have no appetite for replacing them.
What I can't tell you from published data: how fast it boils, how tightly it holds a setting, how large a pan it accommodates, or how long it lasts. None of that appears in the supplied listing information, and this website ran no tests to find out.
Sources and Methodology
This website did not physically or laboratory-test the Duxtop 8100MC — no unit was cooked on, timed, weighed or measured for this page, and no lab does that work on our behalf. What the page is built from is a close reading of two supplied source types retrieved 2026-09-06: an Amazon Creators API verified product record for ASIN B0045QEPYM, and the product listing feature bullets published alongside it [S3]. General safety context comes from CPSC consumer resources and USA.gov consumer protection guidance.
For portable induction specifically, that reading gets you further than it would for many categories, because the buying decision hinges on published numbers rather than feel: the wattage range, the number of control steps, the temperature span, the timer ceiling and — above all — the magnetic-cookware requirement. Those are all stated by the manufacturer, and they are enough to tell you whether the burner fits your pans and your cooking [S3]. What specification reading cannot tell you is boil time, setting stability or long-term durability, so treat those as open questions this page does not answer.