As an Amazon Associate this site earns from qualifying purchases.
Quick Picks
| Pick | Product | Why, from the published specs |
|---|---|---|
| Best for long, low simmering | Duxtop 1800W Portable Induction Cooktop Countertop Burner | Timer counts down in 1-minute increments up to 170 minutes ([S3]) |
| Best for fine temperature steps | Nuwave Flex Precision Induction Cooktop | 81 temperatures, 100°F to 500°F in 5°F increments ([S4]) |
Disclosure: We earn a small commission from qualifying Amazon purchases at no extra cost to you.
Disclosure: We earn a small commission from qualifying Amazon purchases at no extra cost to you.
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. This page contains affiliate links, and we may receive a commission if you buy through them — at no extra cost to you.
As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.
Last Updated: September 2026
Two portable induction burners, two different approaches to control resolution. Both publish temperature settings and a stated temperature band: the Duxtop 1800W Portable Induction Cooktop Countertop Burner, Gold 8100MC lists 15 temperature settings from 140°F to 460°F alongside 15 power levels from 200-1800 watts. The Nuwave Flex Precision Induction Cooktop, 6.5" Heating Coil, Black lists 81 temperatures from 100°F to 500°F in 5°F increments. That difference in granularity is visible right in the published listing specifications for both units.
This comparison is built by reading each manufacturer's published listing data closely. Nobody on this site cooked on either unit.
- Duxtop Induction Cooktop uses 120 volts, 15 amps of electricity – standard in all homes; Lightweight and compact for easy handling and storage
- Digital control panel. Built-in count-down digital timer with 1 min increments up to 170 minutes; 15 temperature range from 140°F to 460°F; 15 power levels from 200-1800 Watts
- MAKE ADJUSTMENTS ON-THE-FLY – Want hotter temperature or need to cook it longer? No problem. Simply adjust on-the-fly any time. No need to start over. Flex’s intuitive digital
- 81 PRE-PROGRAMMED TEMPS - Select from the 6 convenient preset temperature settings or fine tune your own temperature from 100°F to 500°F in 5°F increments. You can also add or
Quick Answer
Buy the Duxtop 1800W Portable Induction Cooktop Countertop Burner, Gold 8100MC if 15 temperature settings plus 15 power levels are enough control for you and you want a long timer. That 170-minute ceiling is the standout number for anyone simmering stock or braising.
Buy the Nuwave Flex Precision Induction Cooktop, 6.5" Heating Coil, Black if temperature granularity is the point. Nothing in the Duxtop record touches 100°F on the low end or 500°F on the high end.
Here's the thing: neither listing publishes a full spec sheet, so several comparisons below genuinely cannot be resolved from the supplied evidence. We say so rather than guess.
Full Comparison Table
| Feature | Duxtop 1800W Portable Induction Cooktop Countertop Burner, Gold 8100MC | Nuwave Flex Precision Induction Cooktop, 6.5" Heating Coil, Black |
|---|---|---|
| Temperature range | 140°F to 460°F ([S3]) | 100°F to 500°F ([S4]) |
| Temperature steps | 15 settings ([S3]) | 81 temperatures, 5°F increments ([S4]) |
| Power levels | 15 levels, 200-1800 watts ([S3]) | Not stated in the supplied listing information |
| Presets | Not stated in the supplied listing information | 6 preset temperature settings ([S4]) |
| Timer | Count-down, 1-minute increments up to 170 minutes ([S3]) | Cooking time can be added or deducted at any time ([S4]) |
| Electrical | 120 volts, 15 amps ([S3]) | Not stated in the supplied listing information |
| Surface material | Not stated in the supplied listing information | Heavy-duty shatter-resistant ceramic glass ([S4]) |
| Coil size | Not stated in the supplied listing information | 6.5 inch heating coil ([S4]) |
| Safety systems | Auto-pan detection shuts off after 60 seconds with no cookware; diagnostic error messages; low and high voltage warnings; ETL approved ([S3]) | Manufacturer describes the glass as rigorously tested to withstand intense heat without shattering ([S4]) |
| Buy | Check Price on Amazon | Check Price on Amazon |
Design & Build Quality
These two listings emphasize almost nothing in common, which makes a straight build-quality verdict impossible.
Duxtop describes the 8100MC as lightweight and compact for easy handling and storage ([S3]). No weight, no dimensions, no surface material appear in the supplied listing information. "Lightweight and compact" is a seller's descriptor, not a figure you can plan a cabinet shelf around.
Nuwave goes the other direction and names the material: the heating surface is heavy-duty shatter-resistant ceramic glass, which the manufacturer says was rigorously tested to withstand intense heat without shattering ([S4]). Nuwave also calls it one of the safest cooktops on the market ([S4]) — that is the seller's own claim, not independent verification, and it is not backed in the supplied record by a third-party test result. The listing also states a slim design and a 6.5-inch heating coil ([S4]).
Preferred option: Nuwave, but narrowly and only on disclosure. It tells you what the cooking surface is made of. Duxtop's record does not, so a genuine durability ranking is not established by the supplied data.
Features & Functionality
This is where the two units separate cleanly, and it is the section most buyers should read twice.
The Duxtop 1800W Portable Induction Cooktop Countertop Burner, Gold 8100MC lists a 15-setting temperature range from 140°F to 460°F and 15 power levels from 200-1800 watts ([S3]). The supplied listing information does not describe how that 200-watt floor behaves in practice, so we leave it uncharacterized.
The timer is the Duxtop's quiet advantage. A count-down timer in 1-minute increments up to 170 minutes ([S3]) means you can set nearly three hours in one go. Nuwave's listing says you can add or deduct cooking time at any time ([S4]) but does not state a maximum timer duration, so the two cannot be compared on ceiling.
Nuwave's pitch is resolution. 81 pre-programmed temperatures, 6 presets, and 5°F increments across 100°F to 500°F ([S4]). The company frames the extremes as holding delicate sauces at 100°F and grilling steak at 500°F ([S4]). Nuwave also stresses on-the-fly adjustment: change temperature or time mid-cook without restarting, with immediate response ([S4]).
That 40°F difference at the top end is real and worth weighing. If your cooking involves aggressive searing, Nuwave publishes a higher stated maximum than Duxtop's 460°F ([S3], [S4]).
Preferred option: Depends entirely on your cooking. Nuwave for finer temperature steps and a wider stated band. Duxtop for wattage-level control alongside its 15 temperature settings, plus a stated long timer.
Check Price on Amazon for the Nuwave Flex Precision Induction Cooktop.
Performance
Honestly, this is the section where most comparison articles start inventing things. We won't.
Neither listing publishes boil times, wattage-to-heat efficiency figures, or output curves. Nuwave states that its patented insulation technology brings the induction heating coils closer to your cookware than the competition for faster and even heating, with no hot or cold spots ([S4]). That is a manufacturer claim about its own design, and the supplied record contains no independent measurement confirming it or defining which competitors are meant.
Duxtop publishes the electrical spec instead: 120 volts, 15 amps, which the listing describes as standard in all homes ([S3]). The 200-1800 watt band ([S3]) tells you the addressable output range. Nuwave's supplied listing information does not state a wattage figure, so a head-to-head power comparison is not established by the evidence here.
One shared reality applies to both. Duxtop's listing is explicit that induction requires magnetic cookware — cast aluminum enameled iron and steel, stainless steel with a magnetic bottom, or cast iron ([S3]). That physics applies to any induction cooktop, so budget for compatible pans if you don't own them.
Duxtop also flags something most brands stay quiet about: induction itself is a noiseless process, but clad cookware with multiple sandwiched metal layers may produce a high-pitched sound ([S3]). That is honest disclosure, not a defect claim.
Preferred option: Not established by the supplied data. Neither record contains comparable performance measurements.
Safety Systems
Duxtop's record is the more detailed one here. Auto-pan detection shuts the unit off automatically after 60 seconds if no cookware is detected, and the unit carries a diagnostic error message system plus low and high voltage warnings ([S3]). It is ETL approved ([S3]).
Important scope note: a 170-minute timer ([S3]) is a convenience feature, not permission to leave a hot appliance unattended. And the 120V/15A rating ([S3]) describes what the appliance draws, not what your kitchen circuit can safely sustain — check with an electrician if you're unsure about your wiring. General appliance safety guidance and recall notices are published by the CPSC ([S1]) and consumer protection resources at USA.gov ([S2]).
The supplied Nuwave listing information does not state an auto-shutoff, voltage warning system, or safety certification.
Preferred option: Duxtop, on documented safety features specifically — auto-pan detection, voltage warnings, and ETL approval all appear in its published listing ([S3]) and none appear in Nuwave's.
Check Price on Amazon for the Duxtop 1800W Portable Induction Cooktop Countertop Burner, Gold 8100MC.
Price & Value
Check current price on Amazon for both units before deciding — offers on portable induction burners move constantly.
On value framing rather than dollars: the Duxtop's argument is documented safety systems plus a stated 170-minute timer, with 15 temperature settings and 15 power levels ([S3]). The Nuwave's argument is 81 temperature settings across a wider stated 100-500°F band ([S4]). Those are different kinds of value, and which is worth more depends on how fine your temperature steps need to be.
Preferred option: Not established by the supplied data, since price ordering is not something this comparison asserts.
Which Should You Buy?
- You braise, simmer stock, or slow-cook on a countertop. Take the Duxtop. A count-down timer running in 1-minute increments up to 170 minutes ([S3]) is the concrete spec that supports long unattended-adjacent cooking sessions.
- You cook by exact temperature — sous-vide-adjacent holds, tempering chocolate, candy work. Take the Nuwave. 5°F increments across 81 settings ([S4]) is finer granularity than a 15-step ladder ([S3]).
- You want to hold something genuinely low, near 100°F. Nuwave. Its stated floor is 100°F ([S4]); Duxtop's stated floor is 140°F ([S3]).
- You want the highest stated searing temperature. Nuwave, at 500°F versus Duxtop's 460°F ([S4], [S3]).
- Safety documentation matters most to you. Duxtop. ETL approval, auto-pan detection with 60-second shutoff, and voltage warnings are all published in its listing ([S3]).
- You're a dorm, RV, or small-kitchen buyer thinking about power draw. Duxtop publishes its 120V/15A requirement plainly ([S3]); Nuwave's supplied listing information does not state one, which matters if you're planning around a shared circuit.
How We Research
We work from two source types and only two: Amazon Creators API verified product records, and the product listing feature bullets published on each item's Amazon page. Both records here were retrieved on 2026-09-06 ([S3], [S4]).
Every number in this article was read from one of those published listings and attributed to whoever published it. Where a listing is silent — Nuwave's wattage, Duxtop's surface material, either unit's weight — we mark it as not stated rather than filling it in. No physical testing, timing, or measurement was performed for this page.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the temperature range difference between the Duxtop 8100MC and the Nuwave Flex?
The Duxtop 1800W Portable Induction Cooktop Countertop Burner, Gold 8100MC states 15 temperature settings from 140°F to 460°F ([S3]). The Nuwave Flex Precision Induction Cooktop, 6.5" Heating Coil, Black states 81 temperatures from 100°F to 500°F in 5°F increments ([S4]). Nuwave's stated band is both lower at the bottom and higher at the top.
Does the Duxtop 8100MC have a longer timer than the Nuwave Flex?
Duxtop states a count-down timer in 1-minute increments up to 170 minutes ([S3]). Nuwave states that cooking time can be added or deducted at any time ([S4]) but the supplied listing information does not state a maximum duration, so no direct comparison is possible.
Do both cooktops need special cookware?
Yes — induction requires magnetic cookware. Duxtop's listing specifies compatibility with cast aluminum enameled iron and steel, stainless steel with a magnetic bottom, or cast iron ([S3]). That requirement is inherent to induction and applies to any induction cooktop.
Which one has better documented safety features?
Duxtop, based on published listing content. It states auto-pan detection that shuts off after 60 seconds with no cookware, a diagnostic error message system, low and high voltage warnings, and ETL approval ([S3]). The supplied Nuwave listing information does not state equivalent features.
Is the Nuwave Flex actually faster at heating?
Nuwave claims its patented insulation technology brings the coils closer to cookware than the competition for faster and even heating ([S4]). That is the manufacturer's own statement about its design, and no independent heating-time measurement appears in the supplied records for either product.
Why does my induction cooktop make a high-pitched noise?
Duxtop addresses this directly: induction itself is a noiseless process, but clad cookware built from multiple sandwiched metal layers may produce a high-pitched sound ([S3]). It's a cookware interaction, not a fault.
How much power does each unit draw?
Duxtop states 120 volts and 15 amps, with 15 power levels spanning 200 to 1800 watts ([S3]). The supplied Nuwave listing information does not state a wattage or amperage figure. Note that an appliance rating does not establish what your home circuit can safely sustain.
Final Verdict
The sharp read: these aren't really competitors, they're two answers to different questions.
The Duxtop 1800W Portable Induction Cooktop Countertop Burner, Gold 8100MC is the better documented appliance. Its listing tells you the voltage, the amperage, the wattage span, the safety certification, the auto-shutoff behavior, and the exact timer ceiling ([S3]). If you want a burner whose published behavior you can plan around — especially the 170-minute count-down timer — that's this one. Check Price on Amazon.
The Nuwave Flex Precision Induction Cooktop, 6.5" Heating Coil, Black states finer temperature steps: 81 temperatures in 5°F increments ([S4]) against the Duxtop's 15 temperature settings ([S3]). If you want the finest stated temperature steps and the widest stated band, buy the Nuwave. Check Price on Amazon.
What neither listing lets anyone conclude: which one heats faster, which lasts longer, or which is quieter in practice. Those comparisons are not established by the published evidence, and anyone telling you otherwise from spec sheets alone is filling gaps from imagination.
Sources & Methodology
This website did not physically or laboratory-test either cooktop, and runs no test kitchen. What informed this page was a close reading of the Amazon Creators API verified product records and the product listing feature bullets for ASIN B0045QEPYM and ASIN B08YJ6ZPFJ, both retrieved on 2026-09-06 ([S3], [S4]), with each published figure attributed to the manufacturer or seller that published it.
For portable induction burners specifically, that kind of reading goes further than it would in most categories: control resolution, stated temperature bands, timer ceilings, and safety certifications are all things manufacturers publish, and they're exactly the things that determine which unit fits a given cooking style. What published specs cannot settle is heat-up speed or long-term durability, so we've left those open rather than guessed. Broader appliance safety and recall information is available from the CPSC ([S1]) and consumer protection resources at USA.gov ([S2]).